Exercise: Plan a country house refurbishment

For this exercise I must imagine that I’ve been asked to advise on the refurbishment of a country house. The building can be of any period.

I must:

  • Limit my scheme to a set of three or four rooms and show these on a ground plan.
  • Specify the period and the location of the building.
  • Include a thumbnail sketch of the present inhabitants – the people who have commissioned me.
  • Include any European paintings or works of art, irrespective of cost, but make choices appropriate to the history of the house and the taste and lifestyle of its occupants.
  • Consider if I will have an integrated approach and have common stylistic schemes running throughout; or whether I will vary the style of the rooms to reflect the preoccupations of the principal user?
  • My account is illustrated with photos and drawings to complement and enhance the written elements.
  • Please see the PDF file for more information: Lucy Dean OCA – Exercise – Plan a country house refurbishment– the bibliography is on page 8 of this PDF file.

Leave a comment